Fish Running … Part 1 – 8 of ∞

Part 1 -8 0f ∞ from my facebook notes…((:

Running … Part 1 of ∞

on Thursday, April 1, 2010 at 7:02am

Running (long distance running) is an activity that will highlight and exaggerate the slightest of weaknesses and or imbalances sometimes in very painful ways. It can make you question your sanity. It can kill motivation in a flash. So why do people run? I have no idea why other people run.

I do know why I pursue this ability. I say it this way, because I do not consider myself a runner. One day I aspire to be a mediocre runner but a runner no less.

I wasn’t built for running long distance; it isn’t in my genes. So learning to be one is a process I plan and execute in maniacal detail. At times a painful process. It takes a plan that is flexible, but even the best laid plans are nothing without execution. Like a recipe in the hands of two people, the difference is execution. I have people working with me on my Bio-mechanics, I study anatomy and physiology (never have taken the class), I currently spend more time preparing to run than the actual do running.

To me running parallels life in ways. The hills, the flats, and the challenges. The Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything … I see running as my “Deep Thought” of finding this answer and for learning what that question is.

What I have found so far in running is that it takes a lot of mental focus and this means I have no time to think of anything else and that leads to decreasing stress.

OK, more to come later … (:

Running … Part 2 of ∞

on Tuesday, April 13, 2010 at 7:12am

So right now I am on chlorine detox; yes that means no swimming in chlorinated pools right now. I hate it and Lake Michigan is just a little too cold at this time of year.

I have been studying the issues surrounding chlorine absorption through the skin and it isn’t good on many levels and with as much as I like to swim my exposure is way to high. My goal is running so the swimming will wait for warm fresh water.

May 1st is the date of the 5K and I have several goals. First is too beat my 34:58 from last year. This is easy. Next goal is to be under 30 minutes. This is more than doable right now. Then there is the crazy thought that I could possibly run a time under 25:00 minutes. That would be taking 10 full minutes off of last year.

I am training to do this, but to be honest I do not see this happening this year. It might be asking too much too soon. Granted I like having a goal that I believe is out of reach.

OK, more another day.

Running … Part 3 of ∞

on Monday, April 19, 2010 at 6:46pm

The Chlorine Detox is proving that it was an issue. I feel lazy not swimming in the morning so I am going to start riding my bike and adding in more Yoga. I used to ride two days and swim 3 till I switched to straight swimming.

I also just solved a shoe issue and fired a doctor. Yes they are related. I now have shiny new size 10 4E (Yes, quad E width) shoes to run in. The guy at the store measured me as a 9 2E … I started laughing and told him his scale was broke. My standard size is a 10.5 2E since a 4E in anything is rare. It was more than worth the drive Saturday to Naperville to go to Road Runner Sports.http://www.roadrunnersports.com/

It was a very good run today. I am learning how I need to warm up before I run. Today was a perfect example of my learning. I was able to get in my 3 mile run in time and to keep my heart rate in check.

I hope to meet with a couple of trainers for advice on how to correct issues in my stride this week. They work at the school in the fitness center. Free advice ((:

Running … Part 4 of ∞

on Tuesday, April 27, 2010 at 8:23pm

I took the Max to the pool Sunday. Yesterday was a no running day so I had no clue till today when I tried to run. Not good.

Yeah, I have to figure that out cause I should not have had that much pain in my shins.

I warm up, then I stretch, then I run. Today was not fun. I did manage three 1 mile runs.

It takes time. That is all I can tell you.

Running … Part 5 of ∞

on Tuesday, May 4, 2010 at 1:55pm

It was a great run for me Saturday. I achieved a realistic goal and after the week I had had with the shins I couldn’t have expected better of myself.

Saturday was a taste of success for me. The kind of day that propels one with new vigor. Patience keeps paying off for me.

I need to get Max running with me. He really liked the 5K. I would love if Sam would come run with me but I think that might be asking too much.

Time to look at my goals for the summer, maybe tweak a thing or two, and think about the fall as well.

Running … Part 6 of ∞

on Wednesday, June 30, 2010 at 1:45pm

I haven’t written about my running in awhile. Granted I haven’t done that much. In late May I did sprain my left ankle while enjoying a day at the beach and ended up having an MRI a few weeks later. Nothing bad it continues to heal and I have started back running again with the Doctors blessing.

Swimming has taken over my summer. I am planning a long swim for late July early August. My open water swimming is progressing very well. It is funny for someone who grew up barefoot and in a bathing suit every summer that I never did any long distance swims. I guess I was a kid then and what was the point.

I will hopefully be able to nail down the details of my long swim this weekend and even get in a good swim without having to wear a wetsuit.

Now I am off to run … ((:

Running … Part 7 of ∞

on Sunday, July 11, 2010 at 8:55am

Last two weeks I have been running better and making strides. Learning how to handle heat and humidity only makes my running stronger.

I have had no issues with my shins or my ankle. I have my warm up process down and that is helping to make a difference. My weekly PT is helping since I switch off from my back to my legs. Granted this week I will have to switch back, at least for this week.

Running … Part 8 of ∞

on Wednesday, July 28, 2010 at 4:54pm
Running in the heat is zapping me of energy. I could use a nap most days. I am trying to get my sleep cycle back but have not yet been able to.

Last training swim is tomorrow morning. (:

About 42Mac

As I said, I will fill in the blanks later ... ((: and here I am filling in the blanks today. I am a generalist at times, big picture guy, and at times crazy detail person. In my life I have had many great experiences. I believe everything is a great example. Sometimes a great example of what not to do. I have made mistakes, I have been knocked down, and I have failed; great examples. I was in my youth diagnosed as a Dyslexic ((: yes, my smilies are an inside joke, and a solution I developed to a communications issue I discovered. I served long ago in the U.S. Navy (Thin/Thick/Thick/Thin) attention to detail. More later ...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

